Doughnuts

5 Sep

DOUGHNUTS

Hi
For my doughnuts I use the recipe out of Richard Bertinet’s ‘DOUGH’ book.

250g Full fat milk
7g yeast (dried)
500g Strong flour
60g butter
40g Caster sugar
10g Salt
2 Large eggs

Warm milk up to blood temperature,
Mix the yeast into the flour,rub in the butter,then add the sugar and salt,then add the eggs and milk.
Work the dough for 15mins until it comes nice and smooth,
Rest the dough for 1 hour.

To make the doughnuts,divide the dough into 30g pieces,roll into a tight ball. Place on a greased and floured tray and prove for 45 mins,

Heat a pan of oil up to 180c, fry doughnuts for about 45 seconds on each side.

Roll in caster sugar once cooked,

I injected some jam in mine and made a few with custard .

Phil
😀

20110905-124239.jpg

2 Responses to “Doughnuts”

  1. Joanna September 6, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    I’ve never made doughnuts but I have always wanted to, but I think I’d eat too many if I did. Maybe I should get a job as a baker then I could bake all that sweet stuff and just eat one or two….

    • Phil.joy September 7, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

      The doughnuts are quite easy to make. Next time I make them I’m going to try them split open and filled with a Apple compote or berries 😀

Leave a Reply

